Women’s Health Care

April 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

I don’t think many people realize how bad our health care system really is. The essay “Health Care Reform-A Woman’s Issue” by Catherine DeLory really opened my eyes to a system that I was very (unfortunately) unfamiliar with. Women make up 52% of the population in the United States. Also, women are the major consumers of health care services.. In return, women have higher health care expenses as well at $2,453. Men pay about $2,316. Women also spend more out of pocket at about 19% and men at 16% (pg 603).

The book offers many solutions to women’s health care such as universal access to quality health care, comprehensive health benefits for all women (employed or not), access to health services from a variety of providers, access to health services provided a variety of settings, systems accountable to women and other consumers, and complete information for women to use to make their own health care decisions (pg 605).

As a woman myself, I know that I go to the doctor whenever I begin to feel ill. The last few times I went, my co pay was $20. My fee just for going was over $100. I have pretty good health insurance through my dad’s union, and yet I’m paying ridiculous amounts to just pick up some amoxicillin for a sore throat. Like we talked about in class, women tend to utilize the doctor much more than men do. Women ultimately pay more than men just because they are women. In my opinion, women should be rewarded for actually going to the doctor instead of being penalized. If that is not possible, then there are other solutions to this problem. Firstly, I think it would be reasonable to even out the payments. Men should have to pay just as much as women. This does not necessarily mean that insurance companies will lose money. The fee’s can just be even dispersed between the two. Or an even better plan would be to just make insurance more affordable. They are ridiculously high and usually just for profit. We should not have to pay so much money for health care.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Women’s Health Care at genderculture.

meta

