AMERICA’S DIRTY WORK Migrant Maids and Modern-Day Slavery

April 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

What struck me about this essay is the fact that I was completely oblivious to this kind of thing still occurring. I had no idea that issues such as women working in homes for little pay and not able to see their families had made a way into modern world. Yes I definitely had learned of it in the past but to see it still happening just opened my eyes especially when we were in the BCC and had learned about immigration. To find out the lives that humans had to go through in order to just make a better living for themselves was disheartening. These are the people that do behind the scenes work and make my life more convenient. I definitely notice my little knapsack a little more after reading about the lives of these women, watching it, and even having someone tell me of their own personal experiences. It is so unfortunate what these mothers, sister, wives have to go through in order to provide better for their families.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading AMERICA’S DIRTY WORK Migrant Maids and Modern-Day Slavery at genderculture.

meta

