Reproductive Rights

April 26, 2012 § 2 Comments

Essay 34 was an eye-opener for me. I was unaware of the different methods that were used on the fertility of black American women. It is hard for me to see how slavery women were encouraged to have children, since this meant more workers. And then for it to just switch once slavery was abolished. These are children that were being dealt with. It wasn’t just some worker, but innocent lives that were being brought into this world with an agenda. I was definitely unaware of the practices that were pushed on African American women from long-term contraceptive, Norplant, and family caps.  Also the involuntary sterilization of the “undesirables”. To take control of another human being’s body, I cannot wrap my mind around.  These incidents were not that long ago. I truly hope that our country continues to move in the right direction. A women should have control and say of her own body. The only time when I think another person can step in is when a child is in danger or the mother could be hurting herself. If a woman cannot afford or physically take care of her children, she should be given the help and options of contraceptives to not worsen the situation. But it is still her decision. We can help and give her the knowledge and tools she needs, but when I comes down to it it is still her body and she should have say in what to do to it.

§ 2 Responses to Reproductive Rights

  • rachaelma0607 says:

    I agree, this essay definitely was an eye-opener. I think looking back on the history of humanity, we are really capable of real evil against one another. It’s appalling that women were forced to fertilization treatments just to have more workers so that employers can earn more profit from them. I agree that a woman has her right to her own body and her own child and intervention is needed if either one is at risk of being hurt. I think it is critical for us to look back on our history and also reevaluate today not with the framework thinking that there is no oppression or injustice today and racism is eliminated, but with a sharp mind and a sensitive spirit to our society.

  • bh143kh says:

    I agree with what you’re saying. I believe it’s a woman’s decision what she does with her body and shouldn’t be forced into something by the government. But at the same time, when the well-being of a child comes into play, I believe other options and information should be presented.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reproductive Rights at genderculture.

meta

