LGBTQA Film Festival

April 23, 2012 § 3 Comments

On the 15h, along with six other friends, I attended four hours of LGBTQA film goodness–well, goodness only applauds to three of the four films. For the most part, the films weren’t so bad and made me excited. Being a member of Purdue for the past four years, there hasn’t been this much commotion for us queers until just recently. The fact that members of the community were able to compile enough money to host a small film festival is beyond amazing. The four films I saw were “(A)Sexual”, “Poker Face”, “Cupcake”, and “Pariah”.

The first film of the night, “(A)Sexual”, is one that I was thoroughly excited to see. Asexuality isn’t a highly visible orientation in the world, and it’s completely disregarded by both the heterosexual community and the homosexual community. It followed the story of AVEN, the Asexual Visibility and Education Network, and specifically the founder, David Jay. Half of the time during this movie, I was gushing about Jay and how he created such a valuable network of people. I’ve been a member of AVEN since 2009, and even now, talking abut my asexual habits are difficult. The film addresses the stigma and the issues that accompany asexual tendencies and orientations, from how people become greatly offended to even being terrified of catching the “non-sexualisms” that, apparently, asexuals emit. It’s a tough road, and as it showed Jay from 2009 to 2011, it’s typically very lonesome. Yet at the same time, exposure like this is what makes it get better.

The second film, which was just a treat, was “Poker Face”. It concerns a clique of lesbians who discover that one of their very attractive members is an MtF (male-to-female) transgender person. The discovery causes tension between certain members and the unraveling of how people cope/don’t cope with the discovery unfolds. Because I’m just a jumble of alphabet-soup-identities and understand firsthand issues of rejection by family and friends because of orientation, this movie was completely on my radar. It’s demonstration of just how intense the prejudices within like-identities within the queer community is uncanny; they truly feel like the most hurtful things at times. For a handful of queer people, being shunned by our families doesn’t come as a surprise. We understand the pain that parents must feel when they have to accept something into their hearts that, before that moment of coming out, was a separated and sinful state of being–or choice even. But, while it is just naivety, many queers are hopeful that those in the community can at least be accepting. This movie, while addressing this issue, does come with a happy ending at least. And it was beautiful.

The third film in this night, “Cupcake”, should have never been made. It was seriously the worst film I have ever seen in my life and I’m fairly certain most everyone in that room agrees with me. A movie about zombie lesbians in a musical setting seems interesting, right? NO. It… Horror. Horrors beyond imagination. My roommate and I sat next to each other, held hands the entire time, covered out eyes most of the time, and screamed out of disgust/pain/death-by-terrible-film. Let’s just put it this way: There’s a song about a zombie LITERALLY EATING… A part of their then human lesbian lover. And there are visuals.

The final film, “Pariah”, I had been wanting to see since winter break. This film should seriously be shown in this class if at all possible. It’s a story about an African-American girl in New York coming to terms with her sexuality and how it affects her relationships with her friends and her family. I’m not sure if, by the end of this movie, there was a dry eye in the house. For some people, it was sad because they had never experienced some of the rejections that occur in the movie. For others… It was sad because we’ve felt it. There are several issues being addressed in that movie–I’m going to bring it down to four–and three of the four hit home to me. I was transported back to middle school, high school, and even two years ago, all during times that I didn’t think I could continue because my reality felt rocked to the core. “Pariah” delivers intensity with strength and even with all these identities being factors, it transcends them and is a coming of age story that most everyone can find some kind of relation too. It was fantastic.

 

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to LGBTQA Film Festival

  • qsthomson says:

    It’s interesting to me that a lot of people aren’t aware of the asexual community. Parallels can be found between the bisexual and asexual communities, and one is that the two don’t get enough recognition. I’m not sure if this is because a small portion of the population identifies this way or simply because we as a society are still opening up to multiple sexual identities. Unfortunately, even in the LGBT community, there still are people who simply don’t believe bisexual and asexual identities are real. But, I’ll be honest…that thought is much more pervasive in the hetero-normative world where the LGBTQA community is still struggling to create a name and lifestyle for itself.

    Glad you could make it, jealous I couldn’t.

    p.s. – Normally not a fan of zombie movies, but seriously?! Sounds truly awful..

  • mlitwicki says:

    I’m super upset that I didn’t get to see “Pariah”. I have also been waiting to see that movie but it just didn’t work with my schedule. I think the fact that you said almost every one cried after the film is a GOOD sign. It’s fantastic that people were able to relate to the film and it really touched many people. I think this is a huge victory for the LGBT community here on campus!!

    Also… zombies? really? bad choice!

    • bibliogay says:

      I would definitely recommend renting or buying this movie if possible. “Pariah” was just… It was amazing. There may not have been many straight allies at the film festival–the audience was a primarily queer one–but I can’t imagine anyone watching this movie and being able to get away without choking up at one point or another.

      And the zombies… I still can’t eat cupcakes yet.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LGBTQA Film Festival at genderculture.

meta

