April 8, 2012 § 1 Comment

I really enjoyed this essay because it opened up my eyes and I truly understood and agreed with Laurie Schaffner. I think all too often we blame people for crimes or bad behavior but we never look deep enough to know what is truly to blame. In class we talked about blaming the victim or blaming the person committing the crime. I don’t always think it is one way or the other. After reading this essay and having discussions in class, I have come to the conclusion that there is never just one thing to blame. If you look at Laurie’s essay, you see many stories of young girls who are in a detention center and in many of their cases, their lives were far from perfect. They had many things going on that could have led them to engage in bad behavior. The essay made me see that in any one instance there can be multiple events or situations that could be causing the behavior.

One of the stories that stuck out to me in the essay was about a girl named Cheyanne, she was only 17, but her story was a heavy one. Her mom was in jail, she didn’t go to school, her brother was shot because he was shooting the people who shot his cousin. Her and her mom don’t get along, she does crank to forget about her problems, and she is on probation. I look at that story and think, wow. I am 20 years old and I can’t even imagine dealing with all of the things that she deals with every day. When I read this essay and saw that story in particular, it changed the way I thought about girls who are violent and get in trouble for violence. I know that next time I see a story about a girl who got in trouble for doing something violent, I will think twice about blaming them for their actions. Many stories have more to them that we never know and I think it is sad that all we ever do is blame people as fast as we can instead of really taking the time to think about the situation and put blame where it deserves to be.

§ One Response to

  • boilerup0924 says:

    I agree with you on the fact that sometimes there is no one to blame and every case is different. There are some cases, such as Trayvon Martin, where the victim is demoralized and blamed to cover up the actions of a perpetrator. But then there are cases, such as Troy Davis, where the alleged murderer was blamed for the crime. I find that the girls in these stories have a lot more emotional and physical issues that can lead to their outrage or decisions. Yes, that doesn’t mean their victims deserve it, but it should also be taken into consideration when put to trial.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at genderculture.

meta

