How safe is America?

March 31, 2012 § 1 Comment

How safe is America? Never in my 22 years of life have I ever felt unsafe where I grew up. I was raised in a small town 25 minutes out side of West Lafayette. Everyone generally knew everyone, and my graduating class probably totaled around 100 people.  Kids were free to ride their bikes around town and hang out without a parents worry. Now if I was to go to Chicago or New York, yes I felt a little different. It had nothing to do with the amount of money I made or my parents made. It was a big city a change of pace for a small town girl.  This essay has really got me thinking and, I find it hard for myself to relate to this at all. At the age of 16 I was pretty much on my own if I needed more for clothing or lunch I had a job to pay for that kind of stuff. My parents were never wealthy but we weren’t in poverty either. Just like the majority of the world we were living in the middle class. Being middle class has never made me feel unsafe and where I come from I don’t know of anyone who could feel unsafe in this neighbor hood. I understand that living in a city in poverty is a completely different story.  We as Americans never stop to think that this place we call home can be threatening just based on the amount of money we make, because we have never been in the situation. As I cannot speak for everyone this is just a personal experience. Never leaving small town life, I will never know what its like to live in a city in poverty.

§ One Response to How safe is America?

  • futurepublicist2013 says:

    I wish I could say the same thing as you but I never went through that. Ever since I was little my parents always instilled in me some kind of fear for the world and to always be observant watching my back. I never understood it until I got older because in my younger days I definitely thought that everything was safe with my naive trusting personality however this essay caps a realistic perspective that for some people they will never experience the fear of not being safe because they have nothing to worry about.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How safe is America? at genderculture.

meta

