Who’s the Fairest of Them All

March 4, 2012 § 1 Comment

This essay was interesting in that fact that I was able to read the concept of light and dark in the community of African Americans. I had already known about the discrimination within the community because I have grown up and am apart of the black community. The fact that it was not seen or noticed among others outside the race was surprising to me but only because I felt it was very obvious. This must be because I am constantly around it.

The documentary that we viewed in class was so real and true and I felt myself just nodding  my head in agreement because I knew exactly what the women were saying. I have heard the constant teasing to little dark skinned girls but I have also heard the teasing to the light “fair” skinned girls as well.

Nicknames such as “light bright” or being told that the reason why they were light is because the were house slaves or that they are light because “Master” was involved. It is some jealousy between the two tones of skin but the teasing and ridicule is not at all one sided. It is a constant back and forth thing. I do not want anybody to think that the dark skinned individuals of the race are just constantly put down and hated on. It is a chaotic constant circular discriminatory war between both tones.

§ One Response to Who’s the Fairest of Them All

  • bh143kh says:

    This was really interesting to me as well. I think it’s ridiculous that people get teased because they don’t fit a certain standard or look the way society wants them to. All this does is cause rivalry between groups of people and leads to unnecessary self-esteem issues. I added a link to a video that shows the extreme measures that some women take to try to change themselves to fit a standard. It’s aggravating to see the effect that society has on people and the lengths they will go to to be someone else’s idea of perfect.

    The video shows interviews with women who bleach there skin and their children’s skin to make it lighter.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Who’s the Fairest of Them All at genderculture.

meta

