Well Cared For

February 18, 2012 § 4 Comments

While reading the essay by Christy Haubegger, I felt extremely inspired. I would like to find a girl that is completely satisfied with her appearance. If you know her, tell her to give me a call. As far as I know, everyone is self-conscious about some part of their body.

For me, growing up I was always compared against my beautiful sister. When we talk about the perfect girl in class, my sister resembles that. She’s 5’9”, about 120 lbs, perfect figure. She has piercing green eyes and bright blond, curly hair. She was perfect. Myself on the other hand, I was never anywhere near this “perfect” image. I was average in every definition of the word. It took me a long time to feel confident in my own skin, and just like every other girl, I’m still not as “perfect” as I’d like to be.
In the case of Christy, it took a trip to Mexico for her to realize that she would not trade her body for that “perfect” image any day. She realized that she was perfect in her very own way. I loved this essay because it takes so much confidence and self reflection to get to a point in your life where body image isn’t taking over.

As we’ve been talking in class, negative body image can be literally life threatening. It is important for women and girls to find that one moment when everything comes together. I’m not really sure if that goal is even reachable, but as feminists, I do believe that it is important for women (and men) to speak up and let all girls know that they aren’t alone. It is not by any means a simple task, but if girls would see their curves are bien cuidadas, the world would be a much happier place.

§ 4 Responses to Well Cared For

  • gdobler says:

    I completely agree with you. I have always felt that people are beautiful the way they are. The proposed image of beauty is not always beautiful, but the problem is how do you get the word out? I want so badly for girls to realize that their body is beautiful because they are unique. I have to admit that I am not always satisfied with my body but sometimes it is good just to look around and realize that no one is because no one can ever live up to the standard of beauty. People are always too skinny or too fat or too tall or too short or whatever else. I wish society could just take a step back and reanalyze beauty. It would be so awesome!

  • smschutt says:

    Your reflection on this essay really made me think back to my high school years. Although I never had a sister to be compared to, I still was never happy with my body. I started out in 7th and 8th grade as chunky, but by senior year I was then anorexic. The constant pressure of being something I wasn’t, made me stop eating all together and if I would have seen my curves as bein cuidadus I would have a lot less health problems now.
    To this day I find it hard to be happy with what I have I am always dreaming about looking like the girls in the magazine even though being a photo student at Purdue I know that it is almost always photoshoped and what I am longing for isn’t even real or achievable. America along with peer pressure has made it almost impossible for young females to be comfortable in the own skin. Although I have already learned a lot from this class and readings, I still have along way before I really start to accept my looks and body for what it is.

  • ebestrom says:

    I was actually a little surprised by the positive attitudes taken towards the term “Well cared for.” I feel like the implication in that term is that the person is attractive because someone is responsible for them. This reduces the worth of the person it is referring to, implying that they are only attractive because someone is providing for them. Without that care they would be a less desirable person.

  • Eric’s comment is interesting here. Anyone want to take up a response to it?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well Cared For at genderculture.

meta

