Hair

February 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

When reading Jill Nelson’s “Who’s the Fairest of them All?” I obviously could not immediately relate to her 100%. After all, I am a white girl who has naturally wavy hair, someone who does not need to chemically treat or add extensions to my hair in order to make it “beautiful.” Though, there are a few things of her that I can relate to. On page 137, she mentions a blonde actress for a L’Oreal commercial. Being a brunette with brown eyes, I always get shoved into the category of “plain” or “boring” as I am not a blonde with blue eyes. But despite this, I still cannot relate to Nelson completely. Though, I do have a good friend who can.

One of my best friends is half black and half Filipino. Besides for the narrowness of her eyes, her black side dominates her features, with her skin tone, her hair color, texture, etc. Many of our conversations have been about hair, as that is one of her hobbies and there have been many times where she has bleached/dyed/cut my hair. Her hair was a different story though. Many times I saw what she went through in order to make her hair “acceptable.” I have been with her while she gets relaxers, and the chemicals certainly burned my nose even when I wasn’t right next to her. I have seen her do many hair treatments and conditionings in order to make her hair tamable. I have seen her struggle with hair color because it just would not take. It definitely is hard to watch all the thing she does in order to make herself fit into conventional society just a tad.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hair at genderculture.

meta

