Gender and Beauty

February 15, 2012 § 3 Comments

As I was reading the essays for the upcoming class I noticed how closely essay 13 and 19 relate.  For essay 13 it was more about what the term beauty means.  It seems as though beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  I liked how the woman shaved her head completely just to see what it would be like to not have to deal with it and also to see how people would react.  I thought it was interesting how many different reactions she received from just walking down the street.  To her it seemed as though gender and age had an impact on how she was perceived.  I would go along with that and say that it depends on your background whether you make judgements about a person and how they look.

As for essay 19 I loved how the Pueblo people were so unbiased and in a way more simple than what you see in the U.S. on a daily basis.  Here people struggle to try and act their part of being a certain gender.  The Pueblo people have different jobs that need to be completed but they don’t see it as strictly a man nor woman’s role.  They also don’t use age as a factor of whether a person can accomplish something.  I like how this essay simply states, ” we are all a mixture of male and female, and this sexual identity is changing constantly.”  If only everyone could act this way and not have to conform to one sexual identity because they are of a certain gender.  It would make things much easier if things were not set in stone as either a man or woman’s role.

§ 3 Responses to Gender and Beauty

  • What would it take to approach a society that is more like the Pueblo?

  • akugler says:

    I definitely agree that things would be a lot easier if people could do certain jobs or tasks because they can and not based off of their gender. I’ve gotten into many arguments with my boyfriend or parents about different tasks that are expected from me. Many times, I’ve become frustrated because someone else is just as capable to do the job, but I must do it because I am the girl in the relationship or the female child. Many fights and arguments could have been avoided if more of an equal attitude towards things was in place. I’ve also caught myself being on the other side of the issue in these same relationships. I’ve caught myself expecting certain things from my boyfriend, because he is the guy. Since taking gender courses, I’ve stopped myself in some cases and try to have our relationship be more equal and have both of us doing different tasks.

  • sbarell says:

    I would say that the Pueblo society is more of the “ideal” society. In my mind I don’t think everyone could move past what they already have set in their mind for gender roles. It would be great if something like this society could exist but in reality people would need to look beyond what they think is right and not be so judgmental and uniform about the whole idea of gender. It would take a great deal of work to go from what our society says to what the Pueblo society does. Sadly I just don’t see it happening anytime soon. I know woman have come a long way and moved past what they used to say gender roles were, but to have no gender roles would take many more years in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gender and Beauty at genderculture.

meta

