“Latinas on the fault lines of citizenship” (motherhood)

February 2, 2012 § 3 Comments

After our class discussion about this essay we read for this week I decided to expand on what we were talking about in class. As stated in class I talked about how I felt with a single mother working more than she should, making her son work and having to live in a very run down apartment is very shocking for me to read about. I was surprised to read that the government was so overbearing on this family because she was a single, mother Latina that was doing everything she could for her family. I realize that there are many single mothers trying to raise their families and most of them are doing bad things that the government would be looking for in Myrna’s house. I think it is wrong that they can check her house at any time and if something like men’s clothes or not enough food in the refrigerator they will strip her of her welfare benefits.

In this essay, Myrna seems to be very hard working and willing to do anything for her family. This reminded me of the essay we read last week about momism. In our society, I think that women have to live up to this standard of being the perfect mother even if they are doing it on there own. In the essay, ” Latinas on the fault lines of citizenship” Mryna states in an interview that “They can’t say that people on welfare are lazy, because I do work. When there’s hour, I work over 40 hours.” I think this is a crucial part of being on welfare because most Americans who are not on welfare do not think people should get the choice of being on welfare. This is because majority of the people on welfare are lazy and don’t do anything to find a job.

I think welfare should be given to those who actually deserve it not only those who need it. Motherhood is one of the toughest jobs today. Women have to be a care taker of their families and make sure everything is running smooth in order for the household to remain afloat. The movie, How Does She Do It, is a perfect example of how women have to be an all in one package and stretch themselves to ever extent of their lives and their families lives. I believe Myrna should not be “babysat” by the government because she is working hard to make sure her family is supported even with being on welfare. Mothers deserve more credit and should not be looked down on from society for being a working mother or a working, single mother because they are doing it for the benefit of their family.

§ 3 Responses to “Latinas on the fault lines of citizenship” (motherhood)

  • Two concerns, Erika. You make two huge claims that seem to have no foundation: “I realize that there are many single mothers trying to raise their families and most of them are doing bad things that the government would be looking for in Myrna’s house.” and later you say “This is because majority of the people on welfare are lazy and don’t do anything to find a job.” What makes you say this? What proof do you have? Who gave you this idea?

    • erikaostrom says:

      I feel like there are many single mothers doing there jobs but its displayed in media and on the news how mothers get their children taken away from them for being involved in drugs or other illegal activites. I guess my comment was harsh and I know that people on welfare are not all lazy so that was a misconception on my part. I have always believed that what you give is what you will recieve. My friend’s family is on welfare and her father does nothing about it. It may be because it hurt his pride or is defeated but that is my proof. It was my opinion of it and I guess I need to learn more about the subject and be more open minded about this issue.

  • Sorry for taking so long to reply to your reply, but I am glad you rethought your perspective a bit. It is true that there are people who do not do what they are supposed to do. There are people who lie and cheat. But once we stereotype all people of a certain class together based on the sins of a few, we dehumanize them. It becomes easier for us to blame people for their own problems, as if they do not live in a complex world with many ways of living and being. Let’s try to let go of our mystified concepts and allow our sociological imagination take over whenever we can!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Latinas on the fault lines of citizenship” (motherhood) at genderculture.

meta

