The Past Is Ever Present

February 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

While reading this essay, I couldn’t help but feel upset, disappointed and sad. If we really stop to think about the history of African Americans, it’s very disturbing. I can’t begin to imagine what it would be like to be forcefully removed from my country of origin, travel miles and miles across oceans, arrive to a completely foreign country where my language, religion, name and dignity are entirely stripped from me. Not to mention that the moment my feet touched the soil, I was brutally abused and used, witnessed my brothers and sisters get raped, lynched, murdered and beaten, got accused for situations I had no idea about, was lied to, laughed at… and all because of the color of my skin. Years go by, political reforms are put into place… but, I’m still treated as a slave. Yes, I was “freed”, but with no knowledge, education, or help on how to build myself or my people back up. Yes, I was “freed”, but wasn’t even given a thank-you for all the sweat and labor to build this country that doesn’t even accept me and that isn’t even my own. If whites really didn’t like blacks, why did they bring them here? Why didn’t they send them back home?

Blacks are still seen as an alien in the country they are born (USA), and are still despised and looked down upon, why? I can’t help but feel the same for all people of color. What is it about people other than white being scorned because of the color of their skin or cultural background? Many people like to say that racism is an issue of the past and that it isn’t half as bad as what it used to be, but if we read between the lines and really pay attention to the media and our “leaders”, I think we’ll notice that racism is still very much alive, just much better concealed. We must find ways to accept all people of all backgrounds and educate younger generations about the negative consequences of racism and prejudice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Past Is Ever Present at genderculture.

meta

